top of page

Studio Ghibli Exhibit - Tokyo

I know it has been a while since I've written, but I am having the need to finally get some of my Japan trip down in writing. I thought I would start with the Studio Ghibli exhibit that we visited in Tokyo at the Tokyo City View gallery (52nd floor!). The exhibition was created to mark the 30th anniversary of Studio Ghibli and the release of Laputa. We were especially excited to visit as we were unable to get tickets to the much coveted Ghibli Museum. The majority of the exhibit consisted of media clippings (all in Japanese, of course) and an amazing array of movie posters and merchandise. The highlights for me, however, was the fully mechanical airship in the largest part of the gallery, the life size cat bus from Totoro, and the Ghibli themed lunches they were serving in the cafeteria restaurant. I had the eggs and toast from Laputa, whereas my husband had the squid-ink blackened burger to represent the Makkuro kurosuke (soot balls) from Totoro and Spirited Away. Over-all, it was a ton of fun to view this exhibit, and we are feeling blessed that we were able to see it as it only ran for a couple of months.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page