top of page

Toys Collecting for Adult Girls

Often, being an adult and expressing your love for toys results in the same response. It is usually a weirded-out look with nervous laughter, which ultimately forces you to justify why you still enjoy toys as much as you did as a child. The older you get, the less people you find who share this passion with you. Additionally, I sometimes feel that as a female, it is tougher to justify toy collecting. I mean, even adult men who are in to tech gadets, motor bikes, or recreational items such as snowboards, would still refer to the items as "toys". Most women lose their sense of play early (or feel it is not socially acceptable to engage in play); especially once they become mothers or child-bearing age.

So I guess the question is, is it ok for adult girls to collect toys? I'd like to think so. I still get enjoyment out of the beauty of my Lord of the Rings collection Barbies (the details of the costumes are so intricate, they are absolutely stunning). As I child I especially loved the clothes that came with my dolls, and it seems that has still stuck with me. I love my stuffed Appa (from Avatar: The Last Airbender). It is so soft to cuddle with, and completely unique to any other stuffed animal I owned as a child. I would have preffered to have been able to play with a six-legged bison that could fly, rather than the average teddy bear any day! My newest toy, the BB-8 droid from Star Wars, is way cooler than any of the remote controlled cars I got years ago. It is interactive and even looks great sitting on the shelf at home.

So what is my conclusion? All of the things I enjoyed as a child, I still enjoy today- but in a completely different way. I am able to buy the items I enjoy... and appreciate the nostalgic feelings they give me in addition to appreciating the remarkable craftsmanship. Even if they don't leave the shelf, they still bring me joy; and if anyone would condemn me for something that brings me joy, then they are not anyone who I want to associate with anyway. So get out there and do what you love, and never feel ashamed of it. Finally, above all, never lose your sense of play... it's what makes you unique and, in my opinion, truly awesome.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page